The Guinness Six Nations Championship is an international rugby union competition held annually between England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, France and Italy.

The competition initially started out in 1883 as the Home Nations Championship between teams from England, Ireland, Scotland, and Wales. In 1910, it soon turned into the Five Nations Championship with the addition of France until finally becoming the Six Nations Championship we know it today, with the addition of Italy in 2000.

With 39 victories, Wales currently holds the overall record, closely followed by England, with 38 wins. Since the Six Nations began in 2000, both Italy and Scotland have failed to win the title.

Six Nations - The Format Explained

The Six Nations tournament begins on the first weekend in February and culminates on the second or third Saturday in March which is also known as Super Saturday.

Every team plays every other team once, with home ground advantage alternating each season, meaning there are 15 matches within the competition.

The system is similar to the one used in most rugby championships - 0 points for a loss, 2 for a draw, 4 for a win, 1 for scoring four or more tries in a match, and 1 for losing by 7 points or fewer. A Grand Slam winner will be given 3 extra points to ensure they finish top of the table.

If teams tie on both match points and points difference, the team that scored the most tries wins. If after that, it continues to be a tie, the tying teams share the championship. However, this has not happened to date.

The team that finishes at the bottom of the table wins the so-called ‘Wooden Spoon’. Since the Six Nations tournament began in 2000, only England and Ireland have avoided that award.

Six Nations 2021 Guide - Fixtures

The 2021 Six Nations Championship kicks off on Saturday 6th February 2021 with Italy and France up first playing at the Stadio Olimpico in Rome, followed by England and Scotland at Twickenham. To finish off the opening weekend Wales face Ireland at the Principality Stadium in Cardiff on Sunday 7th February.

For the full fixtures and details see below:


(Local Time)

Saturday 6th February 2021 Italy v France Stadio Olimpico, Rome 2:15pm
Saturday 6th February 2021 England v Scotland Twickenham Stadium, London 4:45pm
Sunday 7th February 2021 Wales v Ireland Principality Stadium, Cardiff 3.00pm
Saturday 13th February 2021 England v Italy Twickenham Stadium, London 2:15pm
Saturday 13th February 2021 Scotland v Wales BT Murrayfield, Edinburgh 4:45pm
Sunday 14th February 2021 Ireland v France Aviva Stadium, Dublin 3:00pm
Saturday 27th February 2021 Italy v Ireland Stadio Olimpico, Rome 2:15pm
Saturday 27th February 2021 Wales v England Principality Stadium, Cardiff 4:45pm
Sunday 28th February 2021 France v Scotland Stade de France, Paris 3:00pm
Saturday 13th March 2021 Italy v Wales Stadio Olimpico, Rome 2:15pm
Saturday 13th March 2021 England v France Twickenham Stadium, London 4:45pm
Sunday 14th March 2021 Scotland v Ireland BT Murrayfield, Edinburgh 3:00pm
Saturday 20th March 2021 Scotland v Italy BT Murrayfield, Edinburgh 2:15pm
Saturday 20th March 2021 Ireland v England Aviva Stadium, Dublin 4:45pm
Saturday 20th March 2021 France v Wales Stade de France, Paris 8:00pm

How to buy Six Nations rugby tickets

Tickets for any Six Nations rugby match, but especially England v Ireland and England v Wales, typically sell out months in advance, leaving keen many rugby fans disappointed. Hopefully, our guide below will help you pick up those hugely sought after tickets!

Generally speaking, a number of tickets will be allotted to each rugby union’s members, clubs and affiliated schools. Club rugby supporters, particularly season ticket holders, are then next in line to buy a ticket to see their national team followed by debenture holders.

Six Nations rugby tickets are made available to the general public, however, the availability does depend on which match you want to attend.

Each of the six rugby unions uses a different method to distribute their tickets.

Rugby Football Union (RFU)

Priority for tickets to England's matches in the 2021 Six Nations Championship is typically given to debenture holders, rugby clubs and schools affiliated to the RFU. Any remaining tickets are then offered to members of the England Rugby Club First XV before they are put on general sale via the England Rugby Official Ticketing website.

French Rugby Federation (FFR)

Tickets for France home matches in the 2021 Six Nations Championship can be bought via the FFR's Official Ticketing website. Check their website for further details and availability.

Irish Rugby Football Union (IRFU)

Tickets for Ireland's home matches in the 2021 Six Nations Championship can be brought via Ticketmaster.ie. Check their website for further details and availability.

Italian Rugby Federation (FIR)

Tickets for Italy's matches in the 2021 Six Nations Championship can be brought via the Italian ticketing website TicketOne.it when available. Ticket.Federugby.it also has official information about ticket sales.

Scottish Rugby Union (SRU)

Tickets for Scotland's matches in the 2021 Six Nations Championship can be found on the Scottish Rugby Online Ticket Centre when made available.

Welsh Rugby Union (WRU)

Tickets for Wales' home matches can be found at WRU's Official Online Ticket Office one they are available. Another way to secure a ticket is by booking a Six Nations Hospitality package through an official Hospitality provider, giving you the perfect views and allowing you to soak up the electric atmosphere of a match like a VIP.

If you would like to guarantee your seat at any of the matches of the prestigious competition please do not hesitate to get in touch with us to discuss the range of Six Nations hospitality packages we offer!

Latest Blog Articles

Contact us

Hospitality Finder's experienced corporate hospitality sales team will be able to talk you through your bespoke event requirements in order to recommend the perfect hospitality packages to suit your needs.